April 13, 2006

What is with Restaurants serving Chicken Lemon-Rice Soup?

Posted in soup at 3:21 pm by Jerry

It seems, everywhere I go, the one soup that has the greatest chances of being the "Soup of the Day" is the horrible chicken lemon-rice soup! Do people actually like this stuff? Or is it just the least expensive soup for restaurant owners to buy?

I happen to LOVE soup. Just ask Becky. Not just any soup, mind you. It has to be goooood soup. I like thick soups like stew, I like soups with a great broth, but I don't like weak soups. You know, the ones where the broth seems just a little more than water and the veggies and/or noodles in the broth could be gathered all onto my table spoon.

Ya, I know chicken lemon-rice soup isn't weak. And that's just it. It doesn't even reside in the poorly-made-soup category. There's good soups, there's bad soups, and then there's Chicken Lemon-Rice soup. 

8 Comments »

  1. jeff said,

    It’s one of my favorites.

  2. becky said,

    Two brothers with two entirely different tastes. Hmm.

    (I’ll out myself, too — I’m not a fan of the lemon rice soup, either.)

  3. Tree said,

    I don’t suppose you live in Indiana outside of Chicago? We lived there a couple years ago and my wife loved the lemon rice soup, but now we’re back in north Florida and no one serves it (That we’ve seen).

  4. Todd said,

    CHICKEN AND RICE SOUP WITH LEMON

    6 c. chicken broth
    1 c. rice or orzo
    3 eggs, separated
    1 lemon (juice)
    Salt and pepper to taste

    Boil 6 cups of broth and add one cup of rice. Add salt and pepper to taste. When rice is cooked, lower heat to simmer. In a mixing bowl, put 3 egg whites and beat until stiff. Then add the yolks; add juice of one lemon slowly, beating well.

    Then add broth, a ladle full at a time, beating well until most of the broth is used. Pour this mixture back into the pot, stirring well.

    Optional: Pieces of cooked chicken may be added to the soup.

  5. jeff said,

    Wow, I am so hungry right now!

  6. Jerry said,

    Ahhh, please, no more! Your love for that wretched soup is killing me!

  7. Paul said,

    I live in northwest Indiana outside of Chicago and I always used to love the lemon rice soup at Harry-O’s in Cedar Lake when I was a kid. I haven’t had it in years though.

  8. Tammy said,

    I will admit I never used to be a fan of this soup but something has changed because I find myself craving it now. Maybe it’s like coffee and it’s an aquired taste?


Leave a Reply

