June 25, 2006

Family Fire Pit

Posted in family, marriage at 6:22 am by Jerry

Last night Becky and I were over at my parents for supper and we didn't leave til late in the evening. It was a night of good food and good company. The supper was amazing. I won't go into the delicious details but I'll tell you that it included watermelon and "roll-kuchen" (mennonite specialty), and Becky's delicious apple pie with ice-cream.

After sunset, the conversation was taken outside and kept warm around an open fire. I think it was myself who suggested to my parents to have a fire pit in their backyard, and I have to say, it's among the best ideas I've ever had. Over the years I've enjoyed, so much, my time with my parents on a summer night around their fire pit. That's when we "let our hair down," so to speak, and humbly reveal ourselves to each other comfortably.

In the past, there was only us three: Mom, Dad and me. But now I'm so happy to experience this time with the love of my life. I've told Becky before, how much this time with my parents means to me. But now that it's the four of us, our time together is that much the richer.

I couldn't tell you about all the different topics of conversation that came up, but no matter what the topics were, it's often my experience that something greater is happening in these moments. I think my Dad described it best when he said, "I love this, just sitting under the stars, enjoying nature."

And that's exactly what it was – natural. To me, these moments tap into the fundamentals of family life, cultivating relationships that are forever.

4 Comments »

  1. Tracey said,

    I can totally relate. It’s the small things that make a trip home worth it. Just sitting around the table talking with Dad, or running errands with my Mom are more meaningful than going out and doing something “planned”.

    It’s the little things that make a family special.

  2. Shuana said,

    Sounds wonderful! Hey, I make roll kuchen and watermelon too! (His grandma taught me everything mennonite.) I wonder if you and my husband are related 🙂

  3. Tara said,

    Yum… roll kuchen… would be so yummy with this heat wave! I do enjoy those times when my family can just be, when we play cards, or watch a hockey game together, or lately poker has been our family obsession. Yes a mennonite family playing cards and poker – we are rather progressive – despite my Grandma thinking we are going to hell for doing so!

    I hold dear those memories of family gatherings when everyone gets together and we play ice hockey on the lake, go tubing behind the skidoo (much much fun) or a rousing game of spoons (you are not true mennonite until you have played spoons and have a scar or two! :P)

    Glad you guys had fun… just reminded me of all the fun I had with my family in years past.

  4. Michael said,

    hi dd,

    My folks did the same thing – dug a firepit – and I relate very much to your post. Fire, people, food and conversation; I can’t think of anything better for communication.

    m


Leave a Reply

