September 14, 2006

Heavenly Piece

Posted in martial arts, philosophy, psychology, religion, songs at 9:27 pm by Jerry

Over the last couple of days I’ve dug up another one of my old obsessions — playing guitar. I’ve been playing and singing for hours, and I’ve got the scars to prove it. Well, they’re not scars. They’re blisters. Which just shows how long it’s been since my fingers have danced along the fret board. Don’t laugh when I tell you this, but I was only playing on nylon strings, not those steel ones that really know how to cut into your skin.

Just when I thought I was healing from blisters on my heel (a result of an old martial art obsession I dug up almost five months ago) I have other blisters to tend to. Actually, the blisters don’t bother me as much as I’m making them out to be. I think I just like to point out signs of my obsessions.

But as proud as I may be, these obsessions are a danger to me. They enhance my daydreaming life to an extremely high level. I become so removed from this world, I lose track of what I ought to do. You see, my daydreaming transports me into a realm of eternity — which I happen to think is another word for Lao Tzu’s “Tao” and David Hume’s “Is”. There is no looking into the future or remembering the past. Things just are. Which is unrealistic in our world, don’t you think?

In our world, our responsibilities don’t allow for us to lose sight of time. Even if you try, the question – “How long will I lose sight of time for?” is soon to follow. Unfortunately, any attempt to pursue heavenly peace in our world, can never be without the obligation to do it in pieces. And if you are at all aware you’re doing it in “pieces,” you’re automatically destroying your heavenly peace. In that sense, A Piece of Heaven is a contradiction in terms.

Heaven, if I understand it correctly, is a place where “Is” and “Ought” are supposed to be the same. It’s a place where time and eternity are not in conflict. People in Heaven are considered to live without fearing their future, still aware of both their future and their past (I would hope). If Heaven does, after all, exist, I couldn’t imagine it without curiousity and memories. Could you?

I suppose, if I really wanted a taste of Heavenly Peace, I’m gonna need to have my intuition (or common sense) set aside so much time I’d definitely wake up naturally into our chronologically aware world, without missing what I ought to do.

Leave a Reply

