January 20, 2007

EMMA and BECKY

Posted in family, fatherhood, marriage at 12:28 pm by Jerry

On January 18th, 2007 my daughter arrived into this world of ours and stole two hearts in the process. Becky and I are smitten, and more. Where did all these emotions come from?

I never knew I could feel all these feelings. I’m so happy. I’m so in love with our daughter Emmalee Anne, our Emma. How did she do this to me? Food, sleep – they seem trivial compared to having Emma sleep on my chest. Sometimes, when I think about how much I love her, I wanna just cry because I’m so happy to have her in my life.

Just look at those two. They have such a great relationship. And I know they will keep getting closer while Emma grows into a young woman. Becky’s eyes reveal so much motherly love for Emma.

My poor, lovely Becky. She’s so tired and sore from the hard, hard labor, too. I was there, helping Becky count through the pushes, tapping her legs as a quick non-verbal reminder that her legs need to be relaxed while she pushes her lower back against the bed and cradles her torso around the uterus to push hard — and push hard she did! Becky was an athelete, a champ! 1 hour and 20 minutes of working harder than she’s ever worked in her life. I’m so proud of her. And I’m so proud of Emma. I feel like the proudest Daddy/Husband on the planet.

3 Comments »

  1. Shuana said,

    Wow, she’s beautiful!–both Becky and Emma–the miracle of birth! Of course it was the egg that came first!!:)

  2. suzy said,

    I love the pictures! Esp. the one of Becky mimicking Emma – so cute! What a sweet post and what a great dad you are!

  3. Jared said,

    Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

