February 3, 2007

Many Parts

Posted in literature, philosophy, soup at 2:50 am by Jerry

I just finished reading As You Like It by William Shakespeare. It’s no Hamlet, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. For some reason I’m being drawn to Shakespeare’s work again. I won’t analyze why (like I often do), I’ll just let this mysterious desire ride. In As You Like It, you’ll find this one of many famous Shakespearean quotes (which happens to be a favorite of mine):

All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players;
They have their exits and their entrances;
And one man in his time plays many parts,
(Act II Scene VII)

When I read the last line, I can’t help but think I’ve already played many parts. And yet, there’s so much potential to play many more.

Leave a Reply

