October 5, 2009

Emma’s Mind and Voice

Posted in culture, family, film, history, philosophy of religion, politics, psychology of religion, scripture at 11:53 am by Jerry

I’m excited about the kind of freedoms Emma will enjoy in her future. She seems to be showing signs of the kind of strengths her mother has, which makes me beam with pride. Emma has a wonderfully intelligent and articulate mother who refuses to except ridiculous cultural restraints.

1 Timothy 2:

11A woman must quietly receive instruction with entire submissiveness.

12But I do not allow a woman to teach or exercise authority over a man, but to remain quiet.

13For it was Adam who was first created, and then Eve.

14And it was not Adam who was deceived, but the woman being deceived, fell into transgression.

15But women will be preserved through the bearing of children if they continue in faith and love and sanctity with self-restraint.

I’m so happy that Emma lives in an era where a proper recognition of the potential freedoms (spiritual, political, cultural, etc.) and already existing strengths among women has improved so much. There’s still plenty of room for improvement… and yet, I wouldn’t be surprised at all if I hear from others in the future that Emma has helped them personally or professionally to embrace strengths they didn’t know they had, and live healthier lives (mind and body) as a result.

I know this is highly probable because I’ve seen examples of this kind of empowering influence demonstrated by her mother.

3 Comments »

  1. Will said,

    Omigawd, that film was hilarious! You made some solid points; I’m much happier to bring a girl into this world than, say 70 or more years ago!

    • Jerry said,

      Thanks Will. I have to chuckle every time I watch it.

      It’s been awhile since I read that scripture passage too. And I remember hearing justifications (so far, only from men) years ago for that passage.

      I was told something like… ‘You have to keep the historical context in mind. The church Timothy was speaking to was in chaos due to highly disruptive women. Proper teaching couldn’t be accomplished unless some kind of rules were established.’

      Wow! Some kind of rules indeed! They’re utterly ridiculous. I suspect that the theological interpretation of such a drastic measure to seek order in that church community will eventually be modernized by most if not all christians to be an example of a less progressive culture that God was trying to work with.

      If I have the time, I would love to learn more about modernizations of theology. I’d like to know how many times theology has been updated by cultural influences from outside of the church. And I’m curious to know how much more the bible will be modernized in the future.

  2. Will said,

    A funny foot-note along those ‘Church Modernization’ lines is popular Christian music. I remember seeing hair bands — full-on frizz-hair-and-makeup jokers! And not just a little blush, the full fem-job! There was also some gawd-awful rap, some decent music, but some puffy, mass-consumption shite too!


Leave a Reply

