August 20, 2010

Is Pining for the Supernatural both a Plus AND a Minus?

Posted in atheism, film, songs at 12:59 pm by Jerry

If I think the natural reality is not enough, if I put my greatest hopes into a supernatural reality that could very well be various figments of peoples’ imaginations, where am I getting the thoughts/feelings/energy to do this?

If the natural reality is a fact and supernatural realities are just fiction, is a supernaturalist stealing away some of their own effort from fully embracing/experiencing the factual reality in a way only they can?

Is that what happened to me when I was a christian?

I don’t know. But I do remember, when I acknowledged my lack of belief in God for the first time, it did seem like the natural world just got bigger.

Leave a Reply

